April 15, 2014


Easter is this Sunday! If you are like me, you are probably scrambling for ideas for a basket filling options that are safe for your gluten-free kids. Not to worry- I collected a list of 9 candy companies that offer gluten-free options.

This is only a list of what I was informed of and information made available online by the companies. ALWAYS check the labels for ingredients that you are allergic to. Many of these contain peanuts, tree nuts, soy and other common allergens-this list is focused only on gluten-free candies.  

Without further ado... here for your shopping pleasure is a list of GLUTEN-FREE candy options for filling your kiddos' Easter baskets.

HERSHEY'S (1-800-468-1714)

Almond Joy (all)
Mounds (all)
Hershey's Milk Chocolate Kisses
Hershey's Filled Chocolate Kisses (only caramel and cherry cordial creme, NOT Hugs, Special Dark, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, or Cookies & Cream)
Hershey's Nuggets (all varieties)
Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar, only in the 1.55 oz. size
Hershey's Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar, only in the 1.45 oz. size
Heath Bars
Reese's Peanut Butter Cups (all except for seasonal shaped items, such as Valentine's hearts)
Skor Toffee Bar
York Peppermint Pattie (all)

The following Hershey's products are NOT gluten-free:

Hershey's Special Dark Bar
Hershey's Cookies 'N' Creme Bar
Hershey's Air Delight
Hershey's Milk Chocolate Drops
Hershey's Miniatures
Mr. Goodbar
Symphony Bar
Hershey's Extra Dark Chocolate

Avoid Cadbury Creme Eggs- their ingredients are free of gluten, but they are manufactured in a shared facility and cross contamination is a possibility.

JELLY BELLY (1-800-522-3267)

All Jelly Belly BEANS are gluten-free.

The following are NOT gluten-free:

Chocolate Malt Balls
Chocolate Bridge Mix
Licorice Bridge Mix
Black Licorice Buttons
Licorice Pastels, are NOT gluten-free.
Seasonal mixes often contain the malt balls and are therefore are not gluten-free.

JUST BORN (1-888-645-3453)

Peeps Marshmallow Candies are gluten-free!

According to Just Born, the following candies are also gluten-free:

Mike and Ike Berry Blast
Mike and Ike Italian Ice
Mike and Ike Jolly Joes
Mike and Ike Lemonade Blends
Mike and Ike Original Fruits
Mike and Ike Redrageous
Mike and Ike Tangy Twister
Mike and Ike Tropical Typhoon
Mike and Ike Zours
Mike and Ike Jelly Beans
Mike and Ike Hot Tamales
Goldenberg's Vintage Peanut Chews

MARS CHOCOLATES (1-800-627-7852)

M&M's (all EXCEPT for pretzel-flavored M&M's and some special flavors with a risk of gluten cross-contamination)
3 Musketeers Bars (all flavors)
Milky Way Midnight Bar
Milky Way Caramel Bar
Dove Chocolate products (all flavors EXCEPT for milk chocolate cinnamon graham/cookies and cream)
Snickers Bars (all flavors)
Munch Nut Bar (double check the labels on this one)

The following Mars Chocolate products are NOT gluten-free:

M&M Pretzel flavor
Some packages of M&M White Chocolate, Mint and M&M Coconut flavors
Milky Way Bar (original)
Mars Bar
Mars Combos (a snack mix)

NECCO (1-781-485-4800)

Necco Wafers
Necco Chocolate Wafers
Candy House Candy Buttons
Canada Mint, Wintergreen and Spearmint Lozenges
Mary Jane
Mary Jane Peanutbutter Kisses (available for Halloween only)
Banana Splits Chews
Mint Julep Chews
Haviland Thin Mints, Wintergreen Patty, Nonpareils and Chocolate Stars
Sweethearts Conversation Hearts  (Valentine's Day only)

NESTLE (1-800-225-2270)

Baby Ruth
Butterfinger Bar (original flavor only, NOT Crisp, Giant Bar, Snakerz, Medallions, Jingles, Hearts or Pumpkins)
Milk Chocolate
Nips (including both regular and sugar-free)
Oh Henry!
Raisinets (including Cranberry and Dark Chocolate flavors)
Wonka Pixy Stix
Laffy Taffy (including Laffy Taffy Rope)
Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip

The following Nestle candy products are NOT gluten-free:

Butterfinger Crisp Bar
Butterfinger Giant Bar
Butterfinger Snackerz
Butterfinger Medallions
Butterfinger Jingles
Butterfinger Hearts
Butterfinger Pumpkins
Wonka Nerds
Wonka Bar (all flavors)
Chewy Spree
Wonka Gummies
Wonka Kazoozles
Everlasting Gobstopper
100 Grand Bar

(Some of these candies are in fact gluten-free products, but the are processed in a facility that also processes gluten. In facilities like this- cross contamination IS possible. If you have questions contact the number listed above.)

SMARTIES (http://www.smarties.com/contact-us/)

According to the Smarties company they are 100% gluten-free and peanut free!

Note that Smarties sold in Canada contain wheat flour — always check the label to make sure you're buying the gluten-free type.


Tootsie Rolls
Fruit Rolls
Tropical Dots
Cella's Milk Chocolate Covered Cherries
Cella's Dark Chocolate Covered Cherries
Junior Mints
Charleston Chew
Junior Caramels
Tootsie Pops
Tootsie Peppermint Pops
Caramel Apple Pops
Fruit Smoothie Pops
Tropical Stormz Pops
Child's Play
Charms Blow Pops
Charms Super Blow Pops
Charms Pops
Zip-A-Dee-Mini Pops
Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy
Sugar Daddy Pops
Sugar Mama Caramels
Charms Squares
Charms Sour Balls
Charms Candy Carnival
Pops Galore
Sugar Babies
(According to a representative at the company, Tootsie Roll products also are peanut-free and nut-product free.)

WRIGLEY'S (1-800-974-4539)

Wrigley's online gluten-free statement is kind of wishy washy. They state that most products are gluten-free but others might not be and do not specify which ones they are talking about. I contacted them today, 4/15/14 and they said that nothing they make requires gluten, therefore they are considered gluten-free.

HOWEVER, Altoids Smalls Peppermint Mints contain gluten in the form of wheat maltodextrin.

According to my conversation with their customer service rep the following are 100% gluten-free in the United States.

Creme Savers

I hope that this list helps you with your holiday preparations! We will continue to help the Easter Bunny tomorrow with non-candy items to put in your baskets- 100% guaranteed to be gluten-free :)